• The Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City Independent School District is a fast-growth district with a small-town atmosphere. SCUCISD is located on the northeast side of San Antonio within a 73-square mile area that includes Bexar and Guadalupe counties.

    As more and more people discover the high quality of life and education available for residents of SCUCISD, the district continues to grow.

    During the last 15 years, the enrollment in the district has more than doubled. The district now serves over 15,000 students living in Schertz, Cibolo, Universal City, Selma, Converse, St. Hedwig and occasionally Randolph Air Force Base areas.

    Though the district’s name has eventually evolved into perhaps the longest school district name in Texas, its roots date back to the early 1900s when the district was named the Schertz School District. During the mid-1930s, the Schertz and Cibolo districts became one. On April 24, 1961, the school district officially became an “Independent School District.” Universal City was added to the name in 1967.

    The district is currently home to 8 Elementary Schools, 3 Intermediate Schools, 2 Junior High Schools and 3 High Schools.

    The district is proud to be amongst very few in the area to hold a charter for an International Baccalaureate (IB) diploma program. The IB program is a two-year advanced studies program that is housed at Clemens High School.

    In addition to the students’ successes, SCUCISD continues to be one of the highest-paying school districts in the state and maintains an employee retention rate that other districts envy.



  • Regular board meetings are held at 6 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month at the Central Administration Office. (Exceptions: Month of December 2022 & July 2023)

    Central Administrative Offices for the district are located at the William Malish Administration Bldg, 1060 Elbel Road, Schertz, TX.   

    The Board of Trustees include:

    - Board President - Ed Finley

    - Board Vice President - Letticia Sever

    - Board Secretary - Belinda Evans

    - Board Assistant Secretary - Amy M. Thomas 

    - Board Trustees - Gerald "Jerry" Perkins, Dan Swart and Margaret Carlin

      The Superintendent is Paige Meloni, M.Ed.